what’s going on behind the water heater?

There have been a puzzling variety of squeaks, chirps and coos coming from behind my water heater in the garage. I attached my camera to a pole to try to find out what was there:
10
At first I thought I had a photo of an empty space but a close look shows a European Gecko watching over an astounding garden of eggs. I count more than 30 more-or-less intact eggs with the fragments of many more in the debris layer.
I wonder if I hear the eggs calling to their mother the way Alligators call from the egg? Or is the mother singing to her eggs to help them along?
This Gecko is one of Florida’s introduced species. For a feral animal it’s inoffensive. In fact I think they’re pretty nice.

One thought on “what’s going on behind the water heater?

Leave a Reply

